Hospital Hero Winners

Congratulations to all our Hospital Heroes!

2021 Hospital Heroes

Rae-Anne Pinckney, LMSW, Social Worker - Wellstar Kennestone Hospital

Sandy Wells, RN, Cardiac Rehab Coordinator - Liberty Regional Medical Center


Physician Hero

Mohsen Michael Akhlaghi, M.D., Chief of the Department of Emergency Medicine - Southeast Georgia Health System


Lifetime Achievement Winner

Dawn Cole, RN, MSN, Retired Associate Chief Nursing Officer - Atrium Health Navicent 

2019 Hospital Heroes

Jason Grady, Regional Coordinator of the Northeast Georgia Regional STEMI System - Northeast Georgia Medical Center

Karen McCarty, Emergency Preparedness and Education Coordinator - Bacon County Hospital and Health System

Jenine Morgan, BSN, RN, Nurse Manager - Northside Hospital Gwinnett

Lt. Shanon Prater, NREMT-P, Emergency Medical Technician - Floyd Medical Center

Dora Richter, RPh, Pharmacy Supervisor and Fania Szlam, MMSc, Lab Manager - Emory Healthcare

Jeff Thompson, Director of Pastoral Care - Northeast Georgia Medical Center


Physician Hero

Amy Eubanks, M.D., - Tanner Health System


Lifetime Achievement Winner

Charis Acree, Vice President and COO - Wellstar West Georgia Medical Center

2018 Hospital Heroes

Minna Hong, Supervisor of the Spinal Cord Injury Peer Support Program - Shepherd Center

Kyle Porter, Patient Relations Representative - Northside Hospital Cherokee

Dale Sayler, RN, Care Coordinator - The Medical Center, Navicent Health

Gina Solomon, BSN, RN, CCRN, TCRN, Trauma Program Manager - Gwinnett Medical Center

Karen Veccie, RN - Piedmont Fayette Hospital


Physician Heroes

Buddy Langston, MD, Retired Pediatrician and Trustee, Northeast Georgia Medical Center Gainesville

Randy W. Cooper, MD, General Surgeon and Medical Director of Breast Health Services - University Hospital


Lifetime Achievement Winner

Franklin Smith, Director of Environmental Services - Bacon County Hospital and Health System


2017 Hospital Heroes

Sheryl Adams, RN - Registered Nurse - The Medical Center, Navicent Health

Ann Boriskie - Director, Brain Injury Peer Visitor Association - Shepherd Center

DeAnn Flanders, RN, CIC - Director of Quality Management - Bacon County Hospital and Health System

Rev. Dr. William 'Jeff' Flowers - Director of Pastoral Care - Augusta University Health

Leslie Fordham, DVM - Member, Board of Directors - St. Mary's Sacred Heart Hospital

Michelle Hollaway, RN, BSN, CCRN - Critical Care Nurse - Southeast Georgia Health System

Gary Rice - Emergency Preparedness Coordinator - Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital

Lisa Robinson, RN, MSN - Nurse Educator - Tanner Health System


Physician Hero
Randolph R. Smith, M.D. 
- Plastic Surgeon, Board Chairman Emeritus - University Health Care System


Lifetime Achievement Winner
Douglas C. Morris, M.D. 
- Professor of Medicine, Emory University School of Medicine - Emory Healthcare

2016 Hospital Heroes

Della Dean, RN, Staff Nurse - Piedmont Newnan Hospital

Mike Fordham, Director of Support Services - Dodge County Hospital

Leah Henderson, RNC-OB, Labor and Delivery Staff Nurse - Piedmont Atlanta Hospital

William James, Volunteer - Redmond Regional Medical Center

Jennifer Phillips, Medical Social Worker - Rockdale Medical Center

Milton 'Butch' Rathbun, Quality Management Director - Dorminy Medical Center

Alex Shivers, LMSW, LMSW, Social Worker - Colquitt Regional Medical Center

Robert (Bob) E. Wilson, Board Member, Quality Committee Chairman - DeKalb Medical


Physician Heroes
Avril Beckford, M.D., Chief of Pediatrics - WellStar Health System

Mac Bowman, M.D., Cardiology, Internal Medicine - University Health Care System


Lifetime Achievement Winner
H. Kenneth Walker, M.D., Deputy Chief of Internal Medicine - Grady Memorial Hospital

2015 Hospital Heroes

Pam Ackerman, Volunteer - Hamilton Medical Center

Joanna Berry, RN, BSN, Emergency Department Nurse - Piedmont Newnan Hospital

Randi Bos, RN, Clinical Nurse - Navicent Health

Rev. Wright Culpepper, Director of Pastoral Care - Southeast Georgia Health System

Emory 'Team Ebola,' - Emory University Hospital

Edward Ferguson, Clinical Informaticist - Atlanta Medical Center

Diana Sowell, Director of Education - Meadows Regional Medical Center

Gail Stroud, RN, BSN, Nurse - Gwinnett Medical Center

Linda Womack, Former Director of State and Government Affairs - Emory University


Physician Hero

William Cooper, M.D., Medical Director of Cardiovascular Surgery - WellStar Health System


Lifetime Achievement Winner

Lowell Clark, M.D., Pediatric Intensivist - Navicent Health

The Hospital Heroes Program was launched in 2005. For names of other past winners, please contact Erin Stewart.